"French World Music" manouche-style

For almost 20 years now, François Petit’s compositions have traveled the world, teetering between gypsy and manouche music. 

A violin and a cello have now joined forces to replace the famous “pompe manouche” of the rhythm guitar, all still carried along by the ‘good ole’ double bass. 

The four of them pluck, strum, and strike, their music taking off with a contagious fervor and spirit, and a never ending desire to take us along for the ride. A clever mix of music from the East, North, South, sometimes a little bit country or a little bit Rock’n’Roll, lyrical even at times, and so much more…

REFERENCES

Nancy Jazz Pulsasions | Le Divan du Monde, Paris | Festival Chalons dans la Rue, Chalons sur Saône (71) | Festival « Les Bernics en Folies », l’Ile d’Yeu (85) | Festival Le Chaînon Manquant, Figeac (46) | Festival les Transcevenois, Sumènes (30) | Festival sur les Cultures Nomades, Ecole Centrales, Chatenay-Malabry (92) | Circuits Scènes Conventionnées, Auch (32) | Francofolies de Spa, Belgique; Festival les Déferlantes Francophones, Cap Breton (32) | Fête de l’Humanité, ParisFestival Paroles et Musiques, Concerts en Prison, St Etienne | Foire de Mai, Uzeste | Festival Django à Liberchies, Belgique | Festival des Puces, Paris St Ouen | Les Francofolies, La Rochelle (17) | Solidays, Paris (75) | Printemps de Pérouges (01) | Parc Régional des Landes de Gascogne, Belin Beliet (33) | Gypsy Festival, Lyon (69) | Vercors Music Festival, Autrans (38) | Les Bonus de l’Eté, Aix-les-Bains (73)| Festival d’Avignon (84) | National Geographic Cruise, Honfleur (14)Festival Paroles et Musiques, Concerts en Prison, St Etienne | Foire de Mai, Uzeste | Festival Django à Liberchies, Belgique | Festival des Puces, Paris St Ouen | Les Francofolies, La Rochelle (17) |  Solidays, Paris (75) | Tunis, Tunisia , USA | Printemps de Pérouges (01) | Parc Régional des Landes de Gascogne, Belin Beliet (33) | Gypsy Festival, Lyon (69) | Vercors Music Festival, Autrans (38) | Les Bonus de l’Eté, Aix-les-Bains (73)| Festival d’Avignon (84) | National Geographic Cruise, Honfleur (14)

USA : Louisianne, Nouvelle Orléans, Festival International de Lafayette, Salt Lake City,Los Angeles, Seattle, New York City … | Rogers Park, World Music Festival, Chicago | Millennium Stage, Kennedy Center, Washington DC | International Festival, Houston || Canada : La Francofête, Moncton, Nouveau Brunswick, Oakville || Django Festivalen, Oslo, Norway || Tunis, Tunisia

François PETIT

Léo MATHIEU

Michel SANLAVILLE

Phyllipa SCAMMELL

My 20 years of SAMARABALOUF ! 

– by François Petit

Back then, I didn’t want to play the guitar anymore, I wanted to write songs… No such luck! 

It was during an international festival in the city of Amiens that a friend of mine, a bar and café owner, asked me to do three shows for the event. The theme of the festival was “the travelers”, in other words, “Gypsies”. 


I’d barely accepted to do these gigs, that my wife Isabelle started playing the double bass (an instrument she’d never played before), and our babysitter’s husband took up rhythm guitar! 

We even had a drummer for those first concerts: Maxime… Maxime… ? Umm…oh well. 

We quickly came up with our repertoire, directly inspired by my 6 years with “Swing Gadget”, and Arnaud “Nono” Van Lancker’s musical vision. 

We started getting noticed very quickly. Soon, our quartet became a trio, and throughout the region of Picardie, we sowed the seeds of what would later become “Samarabalouf”.  

Three days before ringing in the year 2000, at Le Hérisson studio in St Omer, Isabelle, Nicolas and I record our first CD, the eponymous Samarabalouf. It took many 14-hour days of relentless work, and the album was finally released at the dawn of the new millennium. 

The album was incredibly well received, and thanks to Manu Jantzen and the Toujours plus association, we were able to start touring outside of Picardie. 

For family reasons, both my wife Isabelle and Nicolas preferred to leave the group. Enter stage: Pierrot Margerin, a hard-rock drummer at the time who took up rhythm guitar for the occasion, and Agnès Duvivier on double bass. Together, we spent two years touring, playing over a hundred concerts throughout France. 

This also coincides with our first concert tour overseas. 

In Mexico we played with the widely acclaimed Son Jarocho band, Mono Blanco. That was an incredible experience. We played together every day, from Veracruz to Mexico City, in farms, Indian reservations, and of course more standard music venues. 

Never one to put my instincts aside, Samarabalouf à 7 sees the day with added saxophone, violin, guitars, drums and a belly dancer. This, while simultaneously performing in our original formation. But the trio literally took up all of our energy and I had to put Samarabalouf à 7 on hold, although traces of that project can be heard with the track C’est la vie

Next to join us was Daniel Despagne on the acoustic bass, and with Pierrot Margerin still on guitar, we recorded our 2nd CD in 2002.  Luc Ambry joins us on the double bass shortly after that to support our new song, “La Valche Folle” (a play on “mad cow” and “mad waltz”, vache and valse respectively, in French). 

And we continued touring… From music venues, to concert halls, theaters, festivals – we did it all! 

In 2004, I finally fulfill my dream of recording a live album with accordion player Arnaud Van Lancker: Profitez-en.  This album literally propelled us allowing us to play together non-stop for years. 

Canada and the US welcome us with open arms. At a rate of three tours a year, we travelled from New-Orleans to California, Montana to New York, Chicago to Washington, and even Alaska. We discovered America, relished in the great American landscapes, its towns and large cities, its theaters and festivals. The people, laughter, and adventure with a capital A, led us from international to local airports, we flew on planes of all sizes, and even got to ride in a few limos. And then finally, we returned to France, exhausted but exhilarated. We parted ways, Luc, Pierrot and I, on a Paris subway platform. 

2007 sees a change in management. 

We tackled the 3rd studio album with a real yearning to share, unite, and mix who we are with about 50 different musical ethnicities. Whispers, sounds, energies – we wanted to mix all this “over-the-top craziness” into our music.  It took a whole month to record the album in Mathieu Chedid’s studio, Labo M. This album is full of voices from all over the world, including some highly acclaimed talents such as Nosfell, Laïla Bounos et les human bit box, AngeB and Wab. 

“BaBaBa” is released in 2008. 

Thanks to Luc Ambry’s craftiness and his ingenious “foot sampler”, we were able to promote this album with its multitude of voices on stages all around France and Europe. These concerts have been captured and compiled on DVD in 2010: 10 ans de tournée

Still animated by my desire for inclusiveness and openness, as well as rekindling with a bigger Samarabalouf formation, a new concept is born: Le BalOuf. The idea is simple, and that is to create a really mad ball, from java to electro, Boogie to Twist, this time with bass, drums, guitars and 3 female singers. Something truly festive, energetic, a bit over-the-top, a hundred or so concerts, a CD…and we’re off on a new adventure!

Stop! Screeching halt! 

The producer at the time never took the CD out of his crates. 

A real shame! 

The idea of creating a bal (ball) where energy and brimming creativity abound, allowed me to segue from the GrandBalOuf to LittleBalOuf. Still showcasing my “French Word Music” compositions, but this time with a kind of Rockabilly energy. A “GypsyBilly” of sorts…   

All of these ventures keep me very busy until 2015. 

So… what about Samarabalouf then? 

I needed to find a new concept for the original Samarabalouf. THE Samarabalouf!

Meeting Léo Mathieu and Michel Sanlaville was serendipitous and a good omen.  

Another one of my long-held dreams can finally come to fruition: A SWING string quartet, playing the music of “my world”. 

Violin, double bass, guitar – three out of four! Close…

Enter Phyllipa Scammell, cellist, and my dream becomes reality. 

And “UP” we go!   

As for the rest of the story, we hope to write it with you and THANKS to you!!! 

We created a film to illustrate our adventure.
Youtube : https://youtu.be/30eZWCjHQIs

Enjoy the show!

And see you soon at one of our concerts. 

Fou, Fou, Fou… (French for ‘crazy, crazy, crazy’)

"French World Music" tendance manouche

Un Nouveau Samarabalouf est arrivé !
le SAMARABALOUF « UP »

Bientôt 20 ans que les compositions du guitariste François Petit se promènent à travers le monde, toujours à la frontière des musiques tziganes et manouches.
C’est désormais un violon et un violoncelle qui remplacent la fameuse « pompe manouche » de la guitare rythmique, avec toujours la « bonne vieille » contrebasse pour porter le tout.

À eux quatre, ça pince, ça frotte, ça percute, ça s’envole avec toujours le même esprit fougueux et la même envie de partager. Musiques de l’Est, du Nord, du Sud, parfois rock, country, parfois lyrique et bien plus encore…
Le nouveau Samarabalouf vous UP à travers sa « French World Music » et son nouveau répertoire.

RÉFÉRENCES

Nancy Jazz Pulsasions | Le Divan du Monde, Paris | Festival Chalons dans la Rue, Chalons sur Saône (71) | Festival « Les Bernics en Folies », l’Ile d’Yeu (85) | Festival Le Chaînon Manquant, Figeac (46) | Festival les Transcevenois, Sumènes (30) | Festival sur les Cultures Nomades, Ecole Centrales, Chatenay-Malabry (92) | Circuits Scènes Conventionnées, Auch (32) | Francofolies de Spa, Belgique; Festival les Déferlantes Francophones, Cap Breton (32) | Fête de l’Humanité, ParisFestival Paroles et Musiques, Concerts en Prison, St Etienne | Foire de Mai, Uzeste | Festival Django à Liberchies, Belgique | Festival des Puces, Paris St Ouen | Les Francofolies, La Rochelle (17) | Solidays, Paris (75) | Printemps de Pérouges (01) | Parc Régional des Landes de Gascogne, Belin Beliet (33) | Gypsy Festival, Lyon (69) | Vercors Music Festival, Autrans (38) | Les Bonus de l’Eté, Aix-les-Bains (73)| Festival d’Avignon (84) | National Geographic Cruise, Honfleur (14)Festival Paroles et Musiques, Concerts en Prison, St Etienne | Foire de Mai, Uzeste | Festival Django à Liberchies, Belgique | Festival des Puces, Paris St Ouen | Les Francofolies, La Rochelle (17) |  Solidays, Paris (75) | Tunis, Tunisia , USA | Printemps de Pérouges (01) | Parc Régional des Landes de Gascogne, Belin Beliet (33) | Gypsy Festival, Lyon (69) | Vercors Music Festival, Autrans (38) | Les Bonus de l’Eté, Aix-les-Bains (73)| Festival d’Avignon (84) | National Geographic Cruise, Honfleur (14)

USA : Louisianne, Nouvelle Orléans, Festival International de Lafayette, Salt Lake City,Los Angeles, Seattle, New York City … | Rogers Park, World Music Festival, Chicago | Millennium Stage, Kennedy Center, Washington DC | International Festival, Houston || Canada : La Francofête, Moncton, Nouveau Brunswick, Oakville || Django Festivalen, Oslo, Norvège || Tunis, Tunisia

 

François PETIT

Léo MATHIEU

Michel SANLAVILLE

Phyllipa SCAMMELL

Mes 20 ans de SAMARABALOUF ! 

 

– par François Petit

A l’époque, je ne voulais plus faire de guitare, mais composer des chansons….Raté !

C’est à l’occasion du festival international d’Amiens dont le thème de l’année était « les gens du voyage » qu’un ami, cafetier de son état, m’a proposé d’animer 3 soirées pour l’événement. 


Aussitôt dit, Isabelle mon épouse s’est mise à la contrebasse, n’en ayant jamais joué auparavant et le mari de la femme qui gardait mes enfants, Nicolas Ionas, prit la guitare rythmique.

Pour ces premiers concerts il y avait même un batteur, Maxime, Maxime ?…  Heu …

Le répertoire fut vite monté. L’influence de mes six années passées avec « Swing Gadget », la vision de la musique de « Nono » Arnaud Van Lancker, fut la source d’inspiration directe.

Très vite remarqué, le quatuor devint trio et sema les prémices de cette belle aventure, qu’allait devenir  « SAMARABALOUF », dans toute la Picardie.

Trois jours avant le passage à l’AN 2000 au studio « Le Hérisson » de St Omer, Isabelle, Nicolas et moi,  enregistrons notre 1er CD, l’éponyme Samarabalouf, à raison de 14h par jour de travail acharné. L’album sort à l’aube du XXIème siècle.

L’accueil fut excellent et grâce à Manu Jantzen et l’association « Toujours plus » nous avons pu faire nos premières tournées hors de Picardie.

Pour des raisons familiales, Isabelle et Nicolas ont préféré laisser leur place à Pierrot Margerin, à l’époque batteur de Hard Rock, qui s’est mis pour l’occasion à la guitare rythmique et Agnès Duvivier à la contrebasse.  Nous avons ainsi passé deux années ensemble et joué plus d’une centaine de concerts dans toute la France. 

C’est aussi à cette époque que nous avons fait notre première tournée à l’étranger. 

Au Mexique avec le groupe star de « Son Jarocho » Mono Blanco. Ce fut une expérience incroyable. Nous jouions tous les jours de Veracruz à Mexico, dans des fermes, des réserves indiennes, et bien sûr dans de vraies salles de spectacles.

 

N’ayant jamais renoncé à suivre mon instinct, un Samarabalouf à 7 voit le jour avec Sax, violon, guitares, batterie et danseuse orientale. Tout cela, parallèlement à la formule officielle. Mais le trio absorbait littéralement toute notre énergie, et j’ai du renoncer momentanément à ce projet. Il reste tout de même une trace de ce que fut le Sextet dans le morceau « C’est la vie ».

Avec Daniel Despagne cette fois, à la basse acoustique et toujours Pierrot Margerin à la guitare, arrive le 2ème CD en 2002.  Luc Ambry nous a rejoint à la contrebasse, juste après pour défendre « La Valche Folle » le nouvel opus.

Et les tournées s’enchaînaient… Salles, Théâtres, Festivals. Tout y est passé ! 

2004, je réalise le rêve de faire un album en Live avec l’accordéoniste  Arnaud Van Lancker. « Profitez-en » Il va nous propulser et nous permettre de jouer pendant des années, sans discontinuer.

Le Canada puis les Usa s’ouvrent à nous. A raison de trois périples par an, nous avons « bourlingué » de la Nouvelle Orléans à la Californie, le Montana, New-York, Chicago, Washington…et même une tournée en Alaska. Nous avons ainsi découvert l’Amérique profonde, celle des grands espaces, et celle des villes, des théâtres, des festivals en une centaine de concerts. Les rencontres, les fous-rires, l’aventure avec un grand A, nous conduisaient d’aéroports intérieurs en aéroports internationaux, nous empruntions des avions de toutes tailles, des Limousines même et pour finir…, retour en France, épuisés mais heureux, nous nous quittions, Luc, Pierrot et moi, sur le quai du métro Parisien. 

En 2007 changement de management.

Nous attaquons le 3ème CD studio avec l’envie de partager, rassembler, mélanger ce que nous sommes avec une cinquantaine d’ethnies différentes. Murmures, Sons, Energies, nous voulions mixer tout ce « capharnaüm délirant » à notre musique.  Un mois complet pour enregistrer ce CD dans le studio de Mathieu Chedid, « Labo M ». Un album peuplé de toutes ces voix venues du monde entier et en prime des invités de grand talent,  Nosfell, Laïla Bounos et les human bit box, AngeB et Wab. 

« BaBaBa » sort en 2008.

Grâce au génie bricoleur de Luc Ambry et son concept de Sampler à pieds, nous avons enfin réussi à défendre ce concept inédit de mélange de voix avec notre musique, sur toutes les scènes de France et d’Europe. Ces concerts ont été immortalisés sur le DVD « 10 ans de tournées » en 2010.

Toujours animé par mon irrésistible envie d’ouverture et cette vieille idée d’un grand Samarabalouf ; une nouvelle formation, voit le jour, c’est « Le BalOuf ». L’idée est simple, proposer un vrai bal fou allant de la java à l’électro, du Boogie au Twist, avec cette fois une basse, batterie, guitares et 3 chanteuses.  Festif, énergique et un peu fou, une centaine de concerts, un CD… Nous voilà en route pour le nouveau trip ! STOP ! Le CD reste au fond des cartons du producteur de l’époque.

Dommage !

Le concept du bal avec énergie et la liberté de création tout azimut, m’autorise à passer du « Grand Bal Ouf » au « LittleBalOuf ». Toujours mes compositions « French Word Music »  mais avec cette fois une énergie Rockabilly.  Une sorte de « GypsyBilly »…

Bref, Toutes ces aventures ont occupé ma vie jusqu’à 2015.

Et Samarabalouf alors…

Il me fallait retrouver un nouveau concept pour l’original,  LE Samarabalouf !

La rencontre de Léo Mathieu et Michel Sanlaville sonna comme une évidence. 

Un autre vieux rêve m’est aujourd’hui permis. 

Un quatuor à cordes Swing pour jouer les musiques de « mon monde ». 

Violon, Contrebasse et Guitare, nous étions trois ! 

L’arrivée de Phyllipa Scammell, violoncelliste , fait basculer le rêve dans la réalité.  Nous voilà quatre !  Nous voilà « UP » !

La suite, nous espérons l’écrire avec vous, grâce à vous !!!!!!!!!!!

On vous prépare un petit film pour vous raconter tout ça en image. 

Il arrive ! 

Et, à bientôt pour des concerts 

Fou, FouFou…